The works of the Father // These signs shall follow them

Christ taught:

John 10:37 If I do not the works of my Father, believe me not.
 38 But if I do, though ye believe not me, believe the works: that ye may know, and believe, that the Father is in me, and I in him.

The point of this is largely lost on us.

Yes, it conveys that Christ is one with his Father. But the point is that the same is supposed to become true of us. We are supposed to grow to have the Father and the Son in us. And if we do the then works of the Father will be manifest.

How can such a thing happen? Well that is what the last half of 3 Nephi 11 is all about. If we repent and are baptized the Father gives us the gift of the Holy Ghost. The Holy Ghost bears record to us of the Father and the Son. Put differently the Holy Ghost both teaches us who Christ and the Father are as well as prompting us with their will. As we grow into the gift of the Holy Ghost it bears stronger and stronger record of the Father and the Son to us, making us more and more one with them. Through the Holy Ghost we know more what they desire, we know more what kind of beings they are, and it is easier to submit our will to theirs.

The whole point is to make us one with the Father and the Son the same way Christ is one with the Father. We won’t finish that in mortality, but to fail to press forward diligently along the path just because we won’t finish it here is probably to fail the test of mortality. The test here is to see whether we will press forward diligently. The test of mortality is more for us to set a clear course, than it is to get to the finish line.

And if we at least get far enough for the Father to be able to number us among those that believe then these signs will follow us:

Mormon 9:24 And these signs shall follow them that believe—in my name shall they cast out devils; they shall speak with new tongues; they shall take up serpents; and if they drink any deadly thing it shall not hurt them; they shall lay hands on the sick and they shall recover;

That is precisely what Christ is saying of himself. His Father is in him and so the Father’s works are plainly manifest. Insofar as the Father is in us, the Father’s works will be plainly manifest. Or, put differently “these signs will follow them that believe….”

Now don’t get me wrong. I have a long, long ways to go. But I don’t think that is any reason for me to avoid pointing out the doctrine. Far better for me to know I have a long way to go than to sit back and relax thinking I have already done the essentials.

Published by

John Robertson

I am nothing more than a regular member of the church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.

Leave a Reply

