And I will love him ….

Just a short note that these verses from John

John 14:21 He that hath my commandments, and keepeth them, he it is that loveth me: and he that loveth me shall be loved of my Father, and I will love him, and will manifest myself to him.

23 Jesus answered and said unto him, If a man love me, he will keep my words: and my Father will love him, and we will come unto him, and make our abode with him.

about which we read

D&C 130:3 John 14:23—The appearing of the Father and the Son, in that verse, is a personal appearance; and the idea that the Father and the Son dwell in a man’s heart is an old sectarian notion, and is false.

are related to promises such as

D&C 6:20 Behold, thou art Oliver, and I have spoken unto thee because of thy desires; therefore treasure up these words in thy heart. Be faithful and diligent in keeping the commandments of God, and I will encircle thee in the arms of my love.

That is, the promise of encircling one in the arms of God’s love if he is faithful and diligent is a reference to what Christ said: “He that hath my commandments and keepeth them, he it is that loveth me: and the that loveth me shall be loved of my Father, and I will love him…. and we will come unto him, and make our abode with him”

Leave a Reply

