The Rainbow, Zion, and the Millennium

As I was walking in our neighborhood today there was a sudden, but brief, burst of rain. Blue skies followed, as there were few dark clouds in the sky to begin with, and a beautiful rainbow showed itself.

I wonder whether we understand the symbolism of the majestic bow in the clouds.

I have grown up in the church, and I do not think I have ever heard it taught correctly.

So here is the symbolism. The rainbow is a beautiful bow that connects heaven to earth. Here is what the scriptures say about it (the JST is needed):

JST Genesis 9:17 And I will establish my covenant with you, which I made unto Enoch, concerning the remnants of your posterity.

18 And God made a covenant with Noah, and said, This shall be the token of the covenant I make between me and you, and for every living creature with you, for perpetual generations;

19 I will set my bow in the cloud; and it shall be for a token of a covenant between me and the earth.

20 And it shall come to pass, when I bring a cloud over the earth, that the bow shall be seen in the cloud; and I will remember my covenant, which I have made between me and you, for every living creature of all flesh. And the waters shall no more become a flood to destroy all flesh.

21 And the bow shall be in the cloud; and I will look upon it, that I may remember the everlasting covenant, which I made unto thy father Enoch; that, when men should keep all my commandments, Zion should again come on the earth, the city of Enoch which I have caught up unto myself.

22 And this is mine everlasting covenant, that when thy posterity shall embrace the truth, and look upward, then shall Zion look downward, and all the heavens shall shake with gladness, and the earth shall tremble with joy;

23 And the general assembly of the church of the firstborn shall come down out of heaven, and possess the earth, and shall have place until the end come. And this is mine everlasting covenant, which I made with thy father Enoch.

24 And the bow shall be in the cloud, and I will establish my covenant unto thee, which I have made between me and thee, for every living creature of all flesh that shall be upon the earth.

25 And God said unto Noah, This is the token of the covenant which I have established between me and thee; for all flesh that shall be upon the earth.

First off, this is, at its root, a covenant with Enoch concerning his posterity, and the Lord is offering to make it with Noah as well. The token of the covenant is the bow. Since we leave out the critical JST verses we think that the note in verse 20 that “the waters of the earth shall no more become a flood to destroy all flesh” is the covenant. But that makes no sense, since Enoch lived before the world was destroyed by flood and had the same covenant himself. The promise to not destroy all flesh by water is not the covenant, rather it is a parenthetical promise.

The covenant God made is found solely in the JST. His covenant with Noah, and with Enoch had nothing to do with the earth being destroyed by flood. The covenant was this: “when men should keep all my commandments, Zion should again come on the earth, the city of Enoch which I have caught up unto myself. And this is mine everlasting covenant, that when thy posterity shall embrace the truth, and look upward, then shall Zion look downward, and all the heavens shall shake with gladness, and the earth shall tremble with joy;  And the general assembly of the church of the firstborn shall come down out of heaven, and possess the earth, and shall have place until the end come. And this is mine everlasting covenant, which I made with thy father Enoch.”

THAT is what we are supposed to remember, and what I pondered on, as I looked at that majestic rainbow. We ponder on how we can get ourselves and the rest of the church to look up so well that Zion will look down and heaven and earth will be united. We ponder on what we must do so that Zion will return. The rainbow connects the heavens and the earth in a beautiful way. The rainbow is heaven reaching down in its magnificence and resting upon the soil of  earth.

The symbol of the rainbow is that we are to remember that when we keep all God’s commandments Zion will again come on the earth. The part that is specifically about the posterity of Enoch and Noah is that when their posterity embrace the truth and look up to God as they truly ought to, then Zion will look down, the heavens will shake with gladness, the earth shall tremble with joy, and that the general assembly of the church of the firstborn will come down out of heaven and posses the earth and have place there until the end comes.

The point is, more or less, that Zion will not return until the Saints keep all God’s commandments, and when it does then heaven and earth will be united as they ought to be, for the resurrected and translated Saints will return and receive and possess their inheritances on this earth and they will reign over it.

Of this return we read in Jude:

Jude 1:14 And Enoch also, the seventh from Adam, prophesied of these, saying, Behold, the Lord cometh with ten thousands of his saints,

15 To execute judgment upon all, and to convince all that are ungodly among them of all their ungodly deeds which they have ungodly committed, and of all their hard speeches which ungodly sinners have spoken against him.

Thus the story of the millennium begins with the requirement that the Saints repent and keep all of God’s commandments, looking up to heaven as they ought.

But then the story of the millennium ends up not being so much a story about the saints of this dispensation alone as a much as a story about the resurrected and translated Saints of all ages, as well as the whole posterity of translated Zion. It is a story of heaven being connected to earth. Just as a rainbow connects heaven to earth.

 

Leave a Reply

