A short note on tribulation

Nephi sees a marvelous vision as recorded in 1 Nephi 11-14. Part of what he sees is that his own descendents become wicked and are completely destroyed. After the vision ends we read:

1 Nephi 15:5 And it came to pass that I was overcome because of my afflictions, for I considered that mine afflictions were great above all, because of the destruction of my people, for I had beheld their fall.

I do find it interesting that Nephi is undergoing afflictions that he considers great above all, yet at same the time not a soul on the earth knew anything about it besides Nephi. I suppose as Abraham took Isaac to be sacrificed, it was the same. Who but Abraham knew?

Job’s great trials were known, but I wonder if other great patriarchs have endured their greatest tribulation unknown to any soul but themselves.

Published by

John Robertson

I am nothing more than a regular member of the church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.

Leave a Reply

