Writing and teaching by the Holy Ghost and the power of faith

I was musing to myself today and recognized a connection that I had never realized. I know that when I sit down and write something that if there was anything good in it, that came from the Holy Ghost. Everything else came from me. All the parts that are worthless or wrong are the part that are mine. You can’t make a silk purse out of a sows ear, so to speak.

And I realized that is how the power of faith works as well. Joseph Smith said no man could raise the dead, but that God could do so, using man as an instrument. Even Christ himself said that the Father that was in him did the works.

If we can learn to speak as moved upon by Holy Ghost, I expect we can learn to work by the power of faith. I almost wonder how different the two really are. Neither is really the work of any man. Though both are generally accomplished using man as an instrument, to borrow Joseph Smith’s phrase.

I know that the voice of the spirit is a confident one. If we abandon that, it is harder to be moved by the spirit in writing. I expect that the healing hand of faith must also be a confident one. I expect the voice that shut the mouth of Lions was a confident one. I am suspicious that learning to teach by the power of the Holy Ghost, and learning to work by the power of faith, are near relatives to each other. I expect when we learn to work by the power of faith in truth, we will find it to be much closer to teaching by the Holy Ghost than we expected. There is insight to be found about the one from the other.

Published by

John Robertson

I am nothing more than a regular member of the church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.

Leave a Reply

