We want a buddy, not a God

In Luke 7 we read of a woman who washes the Savior’s feet with her tears and hair.

Christ compares the way she treats him to the way Simon the Pharisee, who is his host, has treated him. Recall the verses:

Luke 7:44 And he turned to the woman, and said unto Simon, Seest thou this woman? I entered into thy house, thou gavest me no water for my feet; but she hath washed my feet with tears, and wiped them with the hairs of her head.

45 Thou gavest me no kiss; but this woman since the time I came in, hath not ceased to kiss my feet.

46 My head with oil thou didst not anoint; but this woman hath anointed my feet with ointment.

47 Wherefore I say unto thee, Her sins which are many, are forgiven; for she loved much. But to whom little is forgiven, the same loveth little.

I am afraid that if Christ were to dwell among us, we have become so wrapped up in the idea that he is our buddy, that while we would treat him better than Simon did, we would not treat him like this repentant woman did.

Published by

John Robertson

I am nothing more than a regular member of the church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.

Leave a Reply

