Trust

I strongly believe that personal revelation is not to be shared except for those over whom you have stewardship. There is one exception in my mind, and that is when it is a matter that is probably more or less common, and you are mostly just adding your testimony to that of others who have preceded you on the same matter.

So I will make a quick note about something once explained to me in a dream, as I feel it is a more or less common matter among us. There was a matter I felt profound distress about over a couple of weeks or more. It was not worry about a future possibility, it was distress over actual ongoing events at the time. This was all during a time in which I had learned a lot about faith. In particular I had learned that faith which gives even the least pause, even momentarily, about “other possibilities” than what the Lord had whispered to oneself was not faith. Sometimes faith requires great determination of will to force all other possibilities out of mind at any moment they present themselves, and the difference between making that effort, and not making that effort can be a phenomenal difference in the effects of ones faith.

I was nevertheless, greatly distressed. The Lord had told me the matter would continue as long as he saw fit. As I did not expect any resolution to the matter in the short term I expected to continue in such distress for a long period of time.

And in my troubled sleep I was clearly told one night “You have learned to believe, but you have not learned to trust in the same way.” I was reminded in a moment of Joseph Smith whose first three children died and also reminded of his words about those who have passed on “It is like their taking a long journey, and on their return we meet them with increased joy.” It was also conveyed in a moment that while certainly he mourned his children, Joseph Smith did not go about in sorrow through his life for his little ones, but completely trusted. I did as was told and my distress disappeared immediately.

Leave a Reply

